News, Politics, and Culture from 14895

By Lacey Gardner

Alfred State College Police Academy honors newest graduates, several from Allegany County Sheriff’s Department


The Alfred State Police Academy graduates pictured along with the Academy and Alfred State administration

ALFRED, NY, October 23, 2023 – The Alfred State Police Academy honored the newest class of graduates recognizing nine graduates of the Police Academy and ten graduates of the Peace Officer Academy during a ceremony hosted at the Main Place in Hornell

“I am proud of the hard work and dedication that these graduates have put in,” commented Academy Director Scott Richardson. “The Police Academy graduates put in over four months of training and are prepared to enter the workforce. Our first graduating class from the Peace Officer Academy went through six weeks of training and are in the workforce already. It is gratifying to train these cadets and see them immediately enter a community to make a difference.”   

Congressman Joe Sempolinski, Assemblyman Phil Palmesano, and Senator Tom O’Mara addressed the graduates. Hornell Mayor John Buckley, ASC President Dr. Steve Mauro, ASC Vice President Dr. Greg Sammons, and Academy Director Scott Richardson along with Sheriff’s Scott Cicirello (Allegany County Sheriff’s Office) and James Allard (Steuben County Sheriff’s Office) delivered messages to the cadets.

Richardson and Assistant Director Chief Kyle Amidon recognized each of the graduates.

Police Academy graduates:

  • Connor N. Abbey – Allegany County Sheriff’s Office
  • Tanner J. Berglund – Platoon Leader – City of Hornell Polic Department
  • David R. Dubois – Session Class Leader – City of Corning Police Department
  • Matthew P. Hanrahan – City of Hornell Police Department
  • Daniel M. Locher – NYS University Police at SUNY Oswego
  • Hunter C. Little – Livingston County Sheriff’s Office
  • Jeffrey W. Robinson – Stueben County Sheriff’s Office
  • Trevor D. Stiles – Platoon Leader – City of Hornell Police Department
  • Matthew A. Tetreault – Avon Police Department

Peace Officer Academy graduates:

  • Mya G. Carney – Wyoming County Probation Department
  • James Cummings – Alfred University Public Safety
  • Kirsten I. Davis – Allegany County Probation Department
  • Nathan J. Hatch – Allegany County Probation Department
  • Nicole A. Helmer – Allegany County Probation Department
  • Amy C. Rafoth – NYS Department Financial Services
  • Brittany A. Sanford – Schuyler County Sherriff’s Office
  • Matthew Wandover – Alfred University Public Safety
  • Robert Wandover – Alfred University Public Safety
  • Sarah R. Wittrock – Cattaraugus County Probation Department

“We are appreciative of the support of local law enforcement agencies and the Police Academy Advisory Committee,” continued Richardson. “Their support and knowledge add to the Academy and the experience for the cadets.”

This was the fifth session of the Alfred State Police Academy and the first session of the Peace Officer Academy. The next session is scheduled to begin in May of 2024. For more information on the Police Academy visit:

Previous Article

Belfast Bicentennial Hosts Halloween Party with Chili Cook Off and Euchre Tournament 

Next Article

Wellsville School vote on additional funding for athletic pavilion is NO

You may also like