News, Politics, and Culture from 14895

Snow Moon over North Hill by Cindy Schreiner

Sisson and Mauro join Jones Memorial Hospital board of directors


Karol Marciano of Andover becomes Chairwoman of the Board

Jones Memorial Hospital is pleased to announce that Rhiannon Sisson of Bolivar and Steven Mauro of Alfred have joined the Hospital’s Board of Directors.

Rhiannon Sisson, a Bolivar native, earned her bachelor’s degree in Business at Niagara University. She and her husband, Scott, are the second generation to run Sisson Chainsaws & Stoves in Bolivar, where Rhiannon is the office manager. In her spare time, she enjoys camping, boating, hiking in the summer and snowmobiling and snowshoeing in the winter. She is an active member of the Bolivar American Legion Women’s Auxiliary.  Two active – now teenage – children have led to her involvement with a number of youth sports programs.

Mrs. Sisson feels that serving on the JMH Board of Directors is a great way to get involved in the community and to give something back to the area she has called home her entire life. “Healthcare in our rural area faces a variety of challenges and it’s important to the community that we have people guiding our hospital who are directly affected by the decisions the board makes,” she explained. “I hope to be a voice for our community.”

The second new member of the Board of Directors is Alfred State College President Dr. Steven Mauro, who recently relocated to Alfred with his wife, Melissa and sons Quinn and Owen. Having spent over 15 years in administration at Mercyhurst and at Gannon University, Dr. Mauro cites a desire to be involved in the community and to support the hospital as his reasons to serve on the board of directors. Dr. Mauro attended the University of Buffalo, where he earned both a bachelor’s degree and a doctorate in Biology.

In welcoming the two new members, the board said good bye and thank you to Dr. Robert Gilfert for his 10 years of service as a board member.   The the reorganization meeting also involved the election of new officers for the board.  Karol Marciano of Andover takes over the role of Chairperson from Rich Ewell. Dan Johnson of Wellsville was elected Vice Chair, Jenny Bilotta of Cuba is the Treasurer, and Mary Kate Cole is the Secretary. Also serving on the board are Rich Ewell, Samantha Gilkey, Ian Jones, and Jim Knapp, as well as UR Medicine representative Michael Apostolakos, MD; Stephen Goldstein, and Mark Taubman, MD.  Dr. Andres Rubert attends the meetings as the Chief of Staff.

Previous Article

Wellsville Police remind of holiday STOP-DWI patrols through Thanksgiving weekend

Next Article

St. Bonaventure downs Southern Indiana, 80-66, photo gallery and preview of Friday’s game vs. undefeated Notre Dame

You may also like