News, Politics, and Culture from 14895

Last glimpse of spring, by Mel Hunt

History made: Wellsville cheerleading wins Section V championship, firetrucks tonight 8 p.m. (photos and video)



If you have been to a football or basketball game over the past few years, you’ve noticed some spectacular jumps, flips, back flips and gymnastic moves flying across the floor or track.

Put that all together with a group that performs perfect choreography, and you have a team with a chance at a sectional title.

On Saturday the Wellsville cheerleaders made school history by becoming the first-ever cheerleading squad to win a Section V title.

The team will now represent Section V at the state championships in Binghamton on March 4.

Giant in Cuba and Wellsville support our athletes!

Section V and New York State recognize cheerleading as an official sport and it is called competitive cheerleading. While it’s always been that way for decades, the sport is officially recognized on paper as well.

Wellsville defeated Pal-Mac, Geneva/Mynderse, Rochester City Charter and Arkport-Canaseraga for the Division 2 Large Schools championship on Saturday at Gates-Chili.

“These kids have worked tirelessly in practice, NCA camp and going to the weight room and tumbling,” said Wellsville cheerleading coach Liz Huyler. “They have wanted this sectional title since the very first day of practice and have never complained all year. We can’t wait to compete again on March 4 in Binghamton for states.”

The 2022-2023 Section V champions.

The team members are Alyssa Dorrough, Bella Sparatta, Ashley Whitney, Emma Dunaway, Lily Ball, Madison Thompson, Kyleigh Morris, Marissa Weinhauer, Carissa White, Morgan Mattison, Eryn McDowell, Skylar Shutt, Abbie Lanphier, Lizzy Seely, Grace Howe, Ava Cole and Addy Clark. Their names will go on the block and in the trophy case with the first-ever historic title.

Section V also awards the Nancy Saxton Leadership Award at sectionals. Wellsville’s Alyssa Dorrough won that prestigious honor.

Coach Huyler is assited by Shyanne Ashbrook and Mitzi Kalkbrenner.

Photo gallery and video below:

Photo gallery of the champions:

Previous Article

Cattaraugus-Allegany League of Women Voters will meet February 22 in Olean

Next Article

What about that $4.5 million? Mayor Randy Shayler gives an update

You may also like