News, Politics, and Culture from 14895

2024 Spring Photography Contest Winner by Donald Putnam

All-state basketball teams announced for boys and girls by state sports writers association


All-state selections were announced. Photographer Steve Harrison knows talent! Here is a great photo he captured of New York State Girls Basketball First Team selection Vanessa Hall of Andover-Whitesville and New York State Boys Basketball Class D Player of the Year Pacey Hopkins of Avoca-Prattsburgh.

(Editor’s Note: The writers and photographers from and the Sun publications did not vote in the all-state selections. The Sun will be publishing the Great 8 (story HERE) soon, with indepth features on the players and coaches of he year and fun bio’s on each player on all three teams. Congratulations to those selected to the all-state team)

Area Girls all-state selections:

Class B:

Player of the Year, Eva DeChaent, junior from Putnam Valley, 23 points per game

Second team: Giovanna White-Principio, Waterloo

Third team: Kylie Buckley, Livonia

Fifth team: Morgan Carabello, Waterloo

Sixth team: Grace Murphy, Midlakes

Eighth team: Emily Gersitz, Attica

Ninth team: Lillian Hoyt, Hornell

11th team: Sierra Harrison, Penn Yan

Honorable Mention: Marley Adams, Wellsville

Class C

Player of the Year, Mary Ashlet Groot, Dalton School, 24.2 points per game

Fourth team: Lillian Mullen, Canisteo-Greenwood

Eighth team: Mallory Welty, Portville

Ninth team: Libby Benner, Keshequa

11th team: Lilly Bentley, Portville

Hallie Knapp, Dundee-Bradford

12th team: Sarana McDowell, Avon, Karlee Zinkievich, Pavilion

Class D

Player of the year, Kayla Campbell, Franklin, Section IV, senior, 27.2 points per game

First team: Vanessa Hall, junior, Andover/Whitesville, 29.6 points per game

Emma Cole, Fillmore, senior, 21.8 points per game

Fourth team: Jadyn Mucher, Fillmore, senior

Mary Hamer, Belfast/Genesee Valley, sophomore

Fifth team: Lindsey Weidman, Notre Dame Batavia

Sixth team: Dakota Brinkman, Elba

Seventh team: Hannah Hoerter, Hammondsport


Class B

Player of the Year, Zaire Baines, Portledge, AIS

Eighth team: Tyler Curran, Allegany-Limestone

Ninth team: Paul Goodness, Pal-Mac

10th team: Isaiah Camp, Newark

12th team: Drew Morrow, Dansville

13th team: Anthony Starks, Greece Olympia

15th team: Mitch Hockney, LeRoy

16th team: Carter McFollins, Batavia

Honorable mention: Jaeden Adams, World of Inquiry, Christopher Coyle, Livonia, Logan Dunbar, Wellsville, Andrew Eschnew, Northstar Christian, Ian Goodness, Pal-Mac, Jahod Faison, Olympia, Bringham Hansen, Penn Yan, Merritt Holley, LeRoy, Troy Kabat, Mynderse, Gennaro Picco, Hornell,

Class C

Player of the Year

Jalen Hardison, Newfield

First team: Lucas Brown, Salamanca

Second team: Zach Colvin, Avon

Eighth team: Logan Salvatore, Dundee-Bradford

Honorable mention: Hunter McCaffrey, Canisteo-Greenwood

Class D

Player of the Year Pacey Hopkins, Avoca-Prattsburgh

Second team: Macoy Putnam, Avoca-Prattsburgh

Third team: Sawyer Devoe, Avoca-Prattsburgh

Fourth team: Colin McCulley, Batavia Notre Dame

Fifth team: Terry Bayly-Henshaw, Wheatland-Chili, Leighton Williams, Wheatland-Chili,

Sixth team: Jordan Welker, Notre Dame Batavia

7th team: Diego Bessette, C.G. Finney

Honorable mention: Haden Abbott, Avoca-Prattsburgh; Colby Cornish, Jasper-Troupsburg; Ryan Fitzpatrick, Batavia Notre Dame; C.J. Gottler, Elba; Zach Marsceill, Elba; Will Roeske, Fillmore.

Previous Article

More drama…and another lawsuit in the Town of Alma

Next Article

Major road closure and detour next week in Village of Wellsville, see map

You may also like